What makes a home, home?

Tricky question isn’t it? At least for me. I’m on the train, going away for work a couple of days but already missing home. Not just my immediate home and the people and pets in it, but the area in which I live too. As I become aware of this feeling I realise this is the most ‘home’ I felt for some time, I’ve landed! But why is it that some places feel more like home and others do not?

I think it has to do with more than the actual place, although that of course has a big impact too. However, I believe our internal world has much more to do with when and how we feel at home.

Over the last couple of years I’ve learnt some things about my personality and what I need and don’t need to feel comfortable and able to settle in a place.

  1. I am very introvert. I need a lot of time to ponder on things and to do that I need to have peace and quiet around me.
  2. I am also very social and need to have friends as well as other people around me. Not necessarily all the time and immediately around me, but close enough…
  3. I love discussing issues and possibilities for change, and engaging with people who have similar ideas.
  4. I thrive on intellectual and cultural exchanges in various forms.
  5. Growing up on an island, the sea has always played a very important part in my life. The sea don’t just have a calming effect, it makes me feel alive. It has maternal and paternal qualities. If I don’t live near water there will always be something missing.

So, for me to feel that my home is really ‘my home!’ (if you see what I mean?), the previous points need to have been considered. Not all of them may be fulfilled at any one time, but I need to be aware of them. I need to be aware of my needs.

Luckily, this time all of the above points are fulfilled. I feel at home! I am home!

 

This entry was posted in Just Sayin'. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What makes a home, home?

  1. Susanne Ebersjö says:

    I have`nt been in on your side for quit a time! But now I am, and this makes me so glad to read .

Leave a Reply

