A Green Dog?

In my quest to live a more ethically and environmentally sustainable life, I also take into consideration what I feed my pets. Of course I don’t want to support certain brands or certain industries in any way for myself or others.

Just as I think about what food I eat, I also consider what food my dog eat. After having taken a closer look at the ingredients of some of the ‘popular’ brands of dog food and how they are sourced, I feel absolutely appalled.

I have just ordered some dog food online from ‘Green Dog Food‘ and will give my opinion on it as soon as it’s been tested (by my dog Leija obviously…).

Until then, here is Leija’s favorite organic and preservative-free dog treats, really easy to do:

Ingredients

1-1/2 Cups organic whole wheat flour
1-1/2 Cups organic white flour
1/2    Cups organic, all-natural peanut butter
1        Cup water
2      Tablespoon organic oil (at the moment I am using cold        pressed rapeseed oil, but whatever you got at home)

1. Preheat oven to 180 C (or about gas mark 4). With a whisk or fork combine the water, oil and peanut butter; cream until mixed well. Add the flour one cup at a time. You will end up with a crumbly mixture.

2. Press together tightly to form a hard ball.

3. Divide the dough in half so that it’s easier to work with. Roll out to a 1/4″ thickness and cut into desired shape. I’ve used small cutters used for cake decorations; it makes the biscuits the perfect bite-size. However, this takes a bit longer and it works just as well to just cut the dough into square shapes with a knife.  

4. Place on  greaseproof paper and bake for about 20 minutes.
Let the biscuits cool entirely before storing (otherwise they tend to go a bit soggy). Stored in an air tight container those biscuits can last for about a week.

 

This entry was posted in Just Sayin'. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment